My Own Little Garden Within an Apothecary Jar

A couple of months ago I had posted about terrariums in my Cabin Fever post. Well it took me this long to finally get the supplies I needed to make my very own terrariums.

 

By using these apothecary jars I think I've finally thwarted my cats' attempts at destroying any and all plants.

 

I’m going to walk you through the steps I took in making my terrariums, that way you can make your very own if you wish.

 

You'll need: charcoal, potting soil (I used a cactus mix for better drainage), rocks, moss, a container, and plants

 

 

I used stones, dried reindeer moss, and fake moss rocks I found at the dollar store.

After washing your container and rocks, place rocks in container. You'll want the layer of rocks to be a couple of inches. The rocks are for drainage, so use as much as you need to prevent root rot.

Now, sprinkle some charcoal over the rocks.

Then add soil. Use enough soil for your plant's roots.

Add your plants.

Finally, add any decorations you want, such as moss. Then water thoroughly.

And you're all done!

The other terrarium I made. (I'm worried I put too many plants in this one)

 

I am by no means a plant expert. I don’t even have a green thumb, it’s more like a black thumb. I do, however, love plants and wanted to attempt growing some terrariums. There’s a lot of informative resources out there that can help you with making your own terrarium.

 

 

This entry was posted in Tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Own Little Garden Within an Apothecary Jar

  1. jamie says:

    where did you get the apoth jars? mason jars should work, too, right? I WANNA MAKE SOME!

  2. Jess says:

    This is awesome. I think, thanks to you, I finally found a solution to have some greenery in my house without having to worry about the kids or cats getting into them.

    • Haha. That’s exactly why I made this, I don’t have kids to worry about but the cats are very destructive! It’s thwarted them so far. I took the lid off once to decrease the humidity and I only turned my back for a couple seconds when I found both of them munching on the plants and one took the fake bird I had placed in there out and was carrying it around. It was kind of funny, but I’m glad I have a lid on most of the time to keep them from ruining it.

  3. Carrie says:

    We have worms in ours right now. These look great, Leah.

    BTW. I got them 2 years ago at Christmas clearance at Sam’s club. They were only 15 for the set of 3!!

    • Like earthworms? If that’s the case, it sounds like something I would have done as a kid…I’m so glad you gave me them, I LOVE them! Also, what an excellent deal!

Leave a Reply

