Rolling Bunting Stamp and DIY “Ink” Pad Tutorial

As I’ve already mentioned, I just love bunting. It’s something festive and nostalgic that just fills me with happiness each time I see it. There’s countless bunting tutorials online made from fabric, paper, yarn and even ice. I wanted to bring this decoration to paper. It’s something that I knew I would use again and again to embellish art projects and greeting cards, so I wanted a bunting stamp for ease of use. I’m a thrifty person so I didn’t consider going out and buying this, instead I decided I could make my own. It’s a cheap project that uses re-purposed items. Luckily, I had everything on hand already so I didn’t have to spend any money. I also, didn’t have any stamp pads on hand, so I made my own!

Materials, Bunting Stamp:

  • toilet paper tube (I had an art project in mind to use these in, so I’ve been collecting a bunch, but they’ve just been sitting around since I’m such a procrastinator)
  • Styrofoam cup
  • ruler
  • x-acto knife
  • glue (I used plain elmer’s glue, but really anything should work)

Instructions:

First of all, you need to cut the toilet paper tube. I measured 1 1/8 inch down from the top of the role and made a line all the way around.

 

 

 

 

 

Now, you need to cut the toilet paper tube at the line you just made with your exacto knife.

Once you have your toilet paper roll cut down to the proper size you’ll want to measure another line on this piece. This time, measure 1/4 inch from the top of the roll. This line will be your guide for the placement of the flags.

 

 

 

 

 

Next, you’ll want to create a template for the flags. I cut mine out of scrap paper. The top of the flag is 1/2 inch wide and is 5/8 inches long.

Once you have the template cut out, trace it onto your Styrofoam cup.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You’ll need to cut out as many flags as you need to go all the away around the toilet paper tube. Use the exacto knife to cut the flags out of the styrofoam cup.

 

 

 

 

 

Now you’re ready to glue the flags onto the toilet paper tube. Put glue on one side of the flags (the flags will have the natural curve of the cup that it came from, you want to put the glue on the inside of the curve so it will form better to the toilet paper roll). Line up the top of the flag with the line you created previously. Leave a little spacing between each flag so it will be even all the way around.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once you have all your flags in place, you need to let the glue dry completely. Your rolling bunting stamp is complete!

I made another bunting stamp using smaller flags. These flags measure 1/4 inch.

Stamp Pad:

Now if you’re anything like me, and don’t already have a stamp pad at your disposal, now is a good time to make your own!

Materials:

  • cd case
  • felt
  • acrylic paint
  • salt

Cut a piece of felt to the size of a cd cover insert.

Then pour some acrylic paint onto the cover. You’ll want the paint to be slightly more runny of a consistency, so add just a teeny bit of salt to your paint. Wait a few moments and see if it gets to your desired consistency, if it’s not add a little more salt. You don’t want the paint to liquefy, just to be slightly more fluid than the original acrylic paint.

 

 

 

 

 

Now you just need to place your felt over the ink. Let the paint absorb into the felt and your stamp pad is ready to use! (wasn’t that easy?)

 

 

 

 

To use your new rolling bunting stamp, just roll the stamp through the ink until all of your flags are covered. Then, place your stamp on the page and roll it slowly across.

Voila!

This is the finished product using the smaller bunting flags.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rolling Bunting Stamp and DIY “Ink” Pad Tutorial

  1. jamie says:

    i have a bunch of rubber stamps and ink, but i recently found out about using acrylic and salt for ink! i actually only have oil paints right now, but i do have black and white speedball screen ink, perfect for stamping! i’ve always thought of potatoes and lino for making stamps, but funny enough, styrofoam never occurred to me. duh!

Leave a Reply

