Crafts As Art; Images From Wire

As I was working on the Repurposed Wire and Yarn to Make Inspirational Words for the Home, it encouraged me to find more ways to use wire. It’s my passion to create artwork from crafting mediums, so I find my mind will often steer in that direction while I’m crafting. I envisioned the wire starting as a “sketch” of a face and then beginning to transform into a more intricate art piece as the wire forming the hair was wrapped with either fabric or yarn. I became so excited with this idea that I began it as soon as I completed my other project.

I wasn’t able to get too much of the piece done last night, but at least it’s a good start. I haven’t been able to get this project off my mind. I continue thinking of different elements I’d like to add. Embroidery, beading, knitting? I can’t wait to get back to work on it and see how the artwork transforms.

 

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crafts As Art; Images From Wire

  1. This is a very good start. Faces are difficult to capture. This one has some real expression in it.

  2. Mary says:

    Was it frustrating to work with the wire, or was it fairly easy?

  3. Wow. What a cool idea. I have never seen anything like this before and working with repurposed wire. I love that!

  4. leah says:

    This looks so amazing! Love that it’s wire too.

  5. Stacy says:

    I love this! I think you should do some words and stuff and sell them on Etsy. I will buy! You are so talented, Leah!

    • Thank you! I’m still trying to psych myself up enough to attempt selling any of my arts/crafts. I’m getting closer though. For some reason it’s just so intimidating to me.

Leave a Reply

