Chunky Knit Cowl With Hidden Pocket Tutorial

I came up with this knitting pattern for a textured, seed stitch cowl with a button up closure and a pocket on the inside that also buttons closed. I knit it with Lion Brand Wool-Ease yarn for a chunky, warm cowl that’s quick to knit up. Cowls are this year’s hot winter accessory. I love cowls and have been wearing them for the past couple of years in place of scarves (cowls stay in place whereas scarves tend to be a bit of a nuisance with me wrestling to get them to stay put). I’ve been having the problem of the cowls I’m wearing just drooping down and not staying up to keep my neck nice and cozy warm. I also wanted the added benefit of being able to tuck my head down into the cowl to keep my chin and lower face warm as well. In these cold Wisconsin winters it’s essential to be able to cover as much exposed skin as possible. I’ve come across amazing cowls, but none of them kept me as covered and warm as I hoped. I also wanted a cowl with a hidden pocket on the inside, this way the times I’m brave enough to wear a skirt or dress in the winter I have a pocket that I can store some things in so I can leave the purse at home. The inside of a cowl is a sneaky, discreet place to hide your wallet or other valuables you’re carrying. I feel safe knowing that my wallet is tucked away near my neck. I’d be impressed if someone was able to “pickpocket” me when I had it stowed away there. So I decided I wanted to come up with my own knitting pattern to meet these requirements. The addition of the pocket has the added benefit of giving the cowl more rigidity to stay standing up and not slouching so much as to leave my neck exposed. Then there’s the other issue of me not always wanting it to be so cozy warm and that’s why I added buttons so I can let in a bit of air and cool things down a bit. This is my first time sharing my own knitting pattern, so please let me know if you encounter any problems or have questions or advice.

Chunky Cowl With Hidden Pocket:

(Don't worry, you don't need a cat to be able to make this)

You’ll need:

  • 2 skeins wool-ease thick and quick yarn (I used #106 Sky Blue)
  • 2 1 1/4″ buttons
  • 1 1″ button
  • darning needle
  • matching thread to sew on buttons
  • US Size 15 circular knitting needle 24″ long

Gauge:

13 sts and 19 rows= 5.5″ in seed st. (K1, P1) repeated for each row

Pattern Sts:

Seed St. (K1, P1) on the following round/row you need to knit the purls and purl the knits

1×1 Rib: (K1, P1) on the following round/row you need to knit the knits and purl the purls

Instructions:

CO 49 sts loosely then join in round. PM and knit in seed st pattern (K1, P1) until piece measures 5″ from cast on edge.

At the end of the round when piece is the proper height turn work, you’ll now be knitting flat. At the beginning of the row CO 6 sts using the backwards loop method. These 6 stitches you just cast on, will be the 1×1 ribbing. You should now have 55 sts.

Row1: (K1, P1) until end of row ending row with K1, turn

Row 2: (K1, P1) seed st. ending with K1 until 6 sts remain (k1, p1) ribbing until end of row, turn

Row 3: Repeat row 1

Row 4: Repeat row 2

Row 5: (K1, P1) Repeat until 6 sts remain P1, K3, BO 1 st, K1, BO 1 st, K1, turn

Row 6: K1, P1, CO 2 sts using backwards loop method (K1, P1) ending with a K1, until 6 sts remain  (K1, P1) repeat until end of row, turn

Rows 7-10: Repeat rows 1 & 2 two times.

Row 11: Repeat row 5

Row 12: Repeat row 6

Rows 13 & 14: Repeat rows 1 & 2

Row 15: Repeat row 1

BO all sts loosely

Interior Pocket

CO 13 sts

Work flat in K1, P1 seed st for every row until piece measures 4″ from CO edge.

Row 1: (K1, P1) until end of row, turn

Row 2: (P1, K1) until end of row, turn

Row 3: (K1, P1) repeat 3 times which will be 6 sts then K2, BO 1, (K1, P1)  repeat until end of row ending with a K1, turn

Row 4: (P1, K1) repeat 3 times which will be 6 sts, CO 1 st using backwards loop method (K1, P1) repeat until end of row, turn

Row 5:  (K1, P1) repeat until end of row, ending with a K1

BO all stitches loosely

Sew buttons onto the ribbed section of the cowl.

Sew pocket on the inside of the cowl. I lined the bottom of the pocket up with the bottom of the cowl and the side of the pocket is approximately 3″ from the buttonhole edge of the cowl. Sew pocket button on inside of cowl, being careful to hide the stitches from being seen on the outside of the cowl.

Weave in all ends.

That's my wallet in the pocket.

And you’re all done!

–This pattern is for personal use only. It may not be copied, reproduced or distributed without permission. Do not reproduce this pattern to sell and/or sell any garment that you make using this pattern.–

Ready to face the cold!

(Note: if you don’t knit the pocket you could probably use one skein of yarn to make just the cowl portion.)

If you make your own, please share the picture, I’d love to see it!

This entry was posted in Tutorial and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chunky Knit Cowl With Hidden Pocket Tutorial

  1. Carrie says:

    Love it! Love the color and the texture of the seed stitch. Your tutorial looks great too…now to find the time for another knitting project. Great work!

  2. jamie says:

    you should submit this to knitty.

  3. Lori says:

    Love this pattern!!! Great idea!! Have you thought of selling your knits on Etsy???

  4. punk rock twin jess says:

    do you have a pdf of this

Leave a Reply

