Using Leftover Egg Dye to Make Colorful Bunting

I’m sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted anything on my blog. Excuse after excuse fueled my procrastination. I won’t bore you with the details, but I’m back with a wonderful tutorial just in time for Easter! It’s a project that uses leftover egg dye and coffee filters. Today I’m featuring the dyed coffee filter bunting tutorial, but make sure to dye extra coffee filters, because I’m going to feature an art project you can make using those dyed filters, which you can now find here.

My dyed eggs.

After I finished dying my eggs (no matter how old I get, I’m going to keep doing this tradition because I enjoy it so much) I felt bad about just throwing away all those beautiful colors. I came up with the idea of dying coffee filters, because I had those sitting around but no longer use them since I switched to a permanent coffee filter. Then I had all these lovely colored coffee filters, but no idea what I could use them for until I came up with this project!

Dyed coffee filter bunting:

You’ll need:

-leftover egg dye

-coffee filters (I used 10-12 cup coffee filters.

-string (I used cotton string, but you really could use anything, like yarn or embroidery thread. Whatever you have on hand.)

-glue (I used a glue stick which makes it really easy and quick. But again, you could use any adhesive you have lying around.)

-rubber gloves (not essential, but if you don’t want your hands stained, I highly recommend using them. I had to learn this the hard way.)

After dying your eggs (I just used food coloring for mine) save the dye. Crumple up individual coffee filters and throw them in the dye. Dye as many filters as you want. Think about how long you’ll want your bunting to be, and how many filters it will take to be able to do that. My bunting used 18 filters. Again, make a few extras to save for my future tutorial, which will need approximately 10 filters (depending on the size coffee filters you’re using).

You can achieve different effects by experimenting with your dying techniques, such as leaving little bits of the filter sticking out of the dye for a tie dye sort of look. Or for simplicity, just completely submerge filters in the dye. For a vibrant color, leave the filters in the dye for longer periods of time (5 minutes or more) for a more muted color, leave it in for less time. When I was making mine, I wanted a wide variety of colors, so after making some filters a vibrant color, I wanted really pastel, muted colors as well. I did this by doubling the amount of water in each cup and dying the filters.

Take the filters out of the dye and flatten the filter out (this is the part where you’ll want to be wearing gloves). You’ll then want to dry the filters. You can lay them out on paper towels or newspaper, hang them on a clothesline, or however you want to do this.

This foosball table worked quite well.

Dried filters all the colors of the rainbow.

Once the filters are completely dry, you can either flatten them out just a little with your hands, keeping a crumpled look, or you can iron them on a low setting. I like the look of both, so I did a strand of bunting of each.

The filter on the left was ironed, while the one on the right, was not.

Fold, or iron, each coffee filter in half.

Next, you’re ready to attach the filters to your string. Leave enough string at the end to allow you to tie up your bunting (I left 2 1/2 feet to be on the safe side). Place a line of glue on the inside fold of the filter.

I discovered that using the glue stick was a really simple way of gluing. I had previously used modge podge, which took quite a bit longer.

Once you’ve applied the glue, place your string on the center crease.

Now you’re going to fold the filter in half again, sandwiching the string in between.  Rub your finger along the outside of the filter to make sure the string is properly secured to the glue.

Continue this same process of gluing to attach more filters. I placed them side by side, but you could also leave a gap in between each filter. Continue until the bunting is your desired length. Again, leave enough string at the end to be able to tie up your bunting, and cut.

That’s it! Hang up your bunting and enjoy. Now aren’t you happy you didn’t just throw away all of that pretty dye after you finished dying eggs?

Don’t forget to check out the other project you can make with these dyed coffee filters.

As always, I’d love to see any project you create using this tutorial. And if you have any questions feel free to ask.

Sorry I have to say this but…

–This tutorial is for personal use only. It may not be copied, reproduced or distributed without permission. This tutorial should not be used to sell the finished product without permission.-

This entry was posted in Tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Using Leftover Egg Dye to Make Colorful Bunting

  1. jamie says:

    great idea – i wanted to crochet a flower bunting or something for my desk at work – i am going to make these and embroider a little on them.

    i never got to make my eggs, i was going to make cascarones to take to work, or maybe bring them to the going away party tonight, but they make a mess when smashed.

    where is the foosball table? i can’t even remember whose house i was at last time i played…

  2. Carrie says:

    Ooh! I like this too!

    • I know that bunting is traditionally thought of as something to have around for parties and special events. But I like having it around all the time because it’s so cheerful, and brings a smile to my face. I have some fabric bunting I made for a friend’s birthday party hanging up in the living room, and I have this bunting hanging up over my bedroom windows.

  3. Pingback: Easter Egg Dye: Alternative Uses | Clip With Purpose

  4. Pingback: 10 Awesome DIY Wedding Bunting and Garland Ideas | Imbue You I Do

Leave a Reply

